Current Dream Jobs

I’ve written before about how I’ve been working (since I finished grad school in 2011) in a field that’s not related to either of my degrees. I have a Bachelor’s in Professional Writing and a Master’s in Higher Education. I have almost 5 years of work experience in project management and business analysis in software development. I’ve never had a job that I’ve enjoyed, or felt that my work allowed me to make a positive difference.

Now that I’m job-hunting in Chicago, I’ve been thinking about how it’s an opportunity to completely start over, professionally speaking.

But here’s the thing: if I could do anything, I honestly don’t know what I would do.

I wanted to be an architect for my entire life. I still have an interest in that, but I don’t have the desire to go back to school for the training that’s required. I also don’t know for sure that it would remain¬†my dream once it was my reality.

Interior design is something I’ve been interested in for almost as long as architecture, and while I think it would make me endlessly happy, I’m not sure I’d have the drive and the eye to be really great at it.

I’ve been thinking for the past year or so about getting into college recruiting for a large company. It’s a blend of the work I’ve done and my Master’s degree, but I don’t have the personality for sales, or the passion required to spend most days giving presentations to college students. I have a friend who works in Employer Relations for a university, and she has a dream job. She gets to visit employers to represent her department and to create job and internship opportunities for her students. I think I would absolutely love that.

From there, I started thinking about general recruiting, which I think I would really enjoy AND be good at. I’ve worked with enough software developers, project managers, and stakeholders to understand what’s really required to do a job well, and I’m a master internet stalker. I think I could find the right candidates for a job, again, I’m just not a huge fan of the “sales” portion that’s required.

I would love to work with animals or do something related to animal welfare. I’d love to have a position with an SPCA or other animal rescue. Not as a vet tech, but potentially in fundraising, outreach, or operations. Non-profit work means a pay cut, so that’s something to consider. I would love to be able to accomplish this dream at some point in my life. Maybe once I’ve retired from an illustrious and profitable career in something else. (Joking.)

Lastly, there’s writing and editing. I’ve become interested lately in doing some freelance projects, but I don’t have a portfolio, and none of my professional experience has allowed me opportunities to write anything marketable. I need to build up a portfolio, whether it be technical writing or much more relatable lifestyle pieces. Within a year, I’d like to have something I’ve written published by an online source.

This list covers the areas I’ve either always wanted to work in, or the ones I’ve been giving serious consideration to lately. In moving to a new city, I’m trying to strike the right chord when applying to jobs. I want to find something I’ll like, but I also want my application to be considered. I don’t enjoy the work I’ve been doing, but it’s the only work I’m qualified for. Do I need to take a major pay cut and apply for entry-level jobs in a field I might be more passionate about? Do I apply for positions I’m not qualified for and hope that my non-related experience is enough to get me considered? It’s a tough balancing act, and I don’t think there are right answers.

Leave a Reply

