A Very Finger Lakes Vacation

I’m back from vacation, relaxed and refreshed! (Kind of. Mostly I wish I hadn’t come home!)

The Finger Lakes region is beautiful. I’ll start with that. I’m sure it’s beautiful year-round, but my impression is that it’s even more beautiful in the fall. See what I mean?

the view from Glenora Wine Cellars on 9/22/13

the view from Glenora Wine Cellars, 9/22/13

 

Keuka Lake on 9/23/13

Keuka Lake, 9/23/13

 

grapes at Hunt Country Vineyards on 9/23/13

grapes at Hunt Country Vineyards, 9/23/13

 

Hunt Country Vineyards on 9/22/13

Hunt Country Vineyards, 9/22/13

 

just a roadside vineyard

just a picturesque roadside field

 

view from the northwest shore of Seneca Lake on 9/23/13

view of sailboats from the northwest shore of Seneca Lake, 9/23/13

 

across the road from our Inn on 9/24/13

a vineyard across Route 14 from our Inn, 9/24/13

 

Watkins Glen State Park on 9/24/13

Watkins Glen State Park, 9/24/13

 

95% sure this was the view from Standing Stone Vineyards, 9/24/13

95% sure this was the view from Standing Stone Vineyards, 9/24/13

 

the view from Chateau Lafayette Reneau Winery, 9/24/13

the view from Chateau Lafayette Reneau Winery, 9/24/13

 

panorama of the view from Chateau Lafayette Reneau Winery, 9/24/13

panorama of the view from Chateau Lafayette Reneau Winery, 9/24/13

 

just a casual waterfall on the side of the road

just a casual waterfall on the side of Route 414

We got home on Wednesday night, and I’ve been trying to decide since then how to summarize the trip. I’ve considered a budget breakdown and a day-by-day breakdown (kind of like I did with our Road Trip to Cape May in July), but I haven’t fully decided yet. I want to write it all down before I forget any of the details, but something has been stopping me and I’m not quite sure what that is.

For now, I’ll say this: it was wonderful. I’d go back in a heartbeat. It was 4 days of relaxation and pure one-on-one time with P. Since we don’t see each other as often as I’d like, I always really love when we get to spend extended time together. I loved having him all to myself and exploring a whole new part of the world together. It was a perfect birthday present.

2 thoughts on “A Very Finger Lakes Vacation

Leave a Reply

