Adobe Photoshop Beginner Class at PVCC

This morning, instead of going to work, I headed to PVCC for a half-day-long Workforce Education class called “Adobe Photoshop for Beginners”!

I work on a team of web designers, and they use Photoshop all the time. All the good bloggers use Photoshop for photo editing and making mood boards. I wanted to learn something!

I’m certainly not an expert yet, but at least now I can say I’ve opened the program.

The first exercise was to take this rubber duck photo:

Ducky

And insert him into this scene:

Duckiesonwater_start

Like so!:

Duckiesonwater_start_1

I decided that a family of ducks was better than just one, so I did 3. Plus, I added their reflections, which I put on a slant and reduced the opacity. Go ahead, marvel at my skillz!

From there, we moved into photo editing tools, which I picked up quickly, because I’ve had some experience using other programs to do similar things. I couldn’t save those files to share here because they were simply too large. But I feel pretty confident in my basic photo editing skills.

Then we moved on to layer masks, which I totally didn’t understand. I couldn’t get it to work right, and I couldn’t grasp the usage. I didn’t understand the practicality of any of it, and nothing I tried seemed to work. So that part of the class was a bit of a fail.

I’m signed up for the second part of the class, “Adobe Photoshop Intermediate,” but now I’m thinking that I might cancel. I really wanted to learn how to do cool blog things, like designing a logo or a header image, or making design mood boards, and that doesn’t seem to be what the class will cover. I’ll have to do some research on my own, I think.

Overall, though, I’m really glad I took the class, and not just because it got me out of work for half the day! I really had fun with the stuff I picked up quickly, and wish I had access to Photoshop to practice some more. (They won’t pay for a license for me at work, since nothing I do has to do with design. Sigh.)

Anyone else learning any new skills lately?

Leave a Reply

