Yard Sale Hopping: Look What I Bought

Two weekends ago, a Catholic church here in Charlottesville had their annual yard sale fundraiser. I saw the announcement on Craigslist and decided to go take a look. I’m glad I did! Here’s what I found.

First up, the books (because apparently I’ve been on a secondhand book buying kick lately)…

The Taste of Summer cookbook (which I figured would be pretty just to display, in the event that I never get around to cooking anything in it…):

2013-08-18 16.55.08

Some light reading:

2013-08-18 16.54.28

And a handy reference book, in case I ever get around to purchasing my first home:

2013-08-18 16.55.25

Then I headed to the housewares room, where I found these…

Another silver platter (which attracted Elephant‘s attention while I was snapping these photos):

2013-08-18 16.53.01

A small glass baking dish (perfect for banana bread!):

2013-08-18 16.56.00

And a mini cupcake tin!:

2013-08-18 16.56.18

All of this for only $5!

Since I was on a roll, I headed to the Schoolhouse Thrift Shop, which I’ve driven past a million times in my life, but had never been inside. I learned that their profits support several charities, including Habitat for Humanity, Ministry With the Aging, The Alliance for Interfaith Ministries, and the Gertrude Mitchell House, and that they’re staffed by volunteers. I had no idea!

Their inventory is mostly clothes (and a surprising number of shoes), but I wound up with another book. I’d seen this one for sale several times before and always thought “I know nothing about either of them; I should really read that!” So for 50 cents, I figured it was worth the investment:

2013-08-18 16.56.44

The next morning, I set out with a list of yard sales around town, but was disappointed with what I found. One promised blue Mason jars, one promised antique trunks, and one offered lots of furniture, but I didn’t see anything I liked besides–you guessed it–another book. This one should help me get my life on track:

2013-08-18 16.58.53

For another 50 cents, I couldn’t pass it up. I’ll let you know if I wind up reading it and figuring things out.

All in all, not too bad for $6, right?

Leave a Reply

