Lunchtime Design: Roxie Daisy

Last Thursday during lunch, I ducked in to Roxie Daisy, a shop just off the Downtown Mall that’s full of “elegant, and elegantly rustic, home furnishings.” (I always enjoy window-shopping as I walk by on my way to lunch, but on this day I specifically planned to go inside.)

Although Roxie Daisy is stocked with lots and lots of beautiful furnishings, nearly everything in the store is a bit out of my price range at this point in my life. (Sigh.) But as I was perusing, I noticed trends that I thought still served as very good design inspiration.

Mostly, I was taken by their shelving. I loved these industrial metal shelves that were backed with wood paneling and used to display books. This look could definitely be replicated on a budget!

2013-08-15 12.37.28

I’ve seen these same stools at Patina here in Charlottesville, and I just love the way they look. It seems that both shops keep a set by the check-out counter. Perhaps seeing something pretty encourages people to spend more money? 🙂

2013-08-15 12.36.55

I loved this antique shelving unit with numbered wire baskets. This would be an excellent storage system for a home office or craft room. Imagine each of those baskets filled with pretty fabric scraps!

2013-08-15 12.32.40

This was a lovely, airy, feminine bedroom display set up in the store. The white brick walls, big windows, fluffy white bed, and gold accents added up to a really soft and inviting look.

2013-08-15 12.33.04

I always find myself interested in different takes on deer mounts. (Because P would die to have a real one in his house and I would kill him if he did…) This one was fabric and stuffed. Much cuter than an actual Bambi head on your wall!

2013-08-15 12.33.19

I loved this light fixture, but like everything else with my phone’s camera, it was hard to grab a great picture.

2013-08-15 12.34.24

I liked the linen slipcovered sofa and the huge coffee table for displaying books…

2013-08-15 12.35.09

…But I really liked this other industrial-looking shelving unit on casters that was used for displaying candles and those annoying scent diffusers.

2013-08-15 12.34.14

So that sums up my lunchtime visit to Roxie Daisy. It’s a beautiful shop filled with wish-I-could-have-that! items, and it’s definitely worth a visit if you’re ever on the Charlottesville Downtown Mall.

One thought on “Lunchtime Design: Roxie Daisy

Leave a Reply

