Life’s Too Short

I’ve been thinking lately. (I know, I know. No jokes, please.)

There are 168 hours in a week.

For 40 of those hours, I’m at work. Just under 5 hours a week are commuting to and from work. That’s 26% of my time during the week (assuming that I don’t stay late or get stuck in traffic).

Let’s call it 56 hours dedicated to sleeping, 7 hours for showering/grooming/starting my day.  At least 7 hours are spent on mealtimes. That’s 70 hours for human maintenance tasks, which is another 42% of my time.

And then there are the decidedly-not-glamorous-but-still-necessary things like grocery shopping, doing laundry, running errands, paying bills, preparing meals, washing dishes, cleaning the house, etc. I’ll be extremely generous and call that 5 hours a week.

After all those things, I’m left with 49 hours–or 30% of my week–for my own use. And as everyone knows, it’s never 49 uninterrupted hours. It’s an hour or so here and there, between doing all those other things.

Now, I’m notoriously bad at math, but even I know that these numbers tell a story.

In my case, they tell the story of a girl who’s 3 years out of college and still hasn’t figured out what she wants to do with her life, but has enough unsatisfying job experience to know that it’s definitely not what she’s been doing for the past 2 years. It’s the story of a girl who has 13.5 months until she turns 26 and has to start paying for her own health insurance. It’s the story of a girl who had a crystal-clear realization recently that every day she spends at work is another day of life opportunities she’s missing out on.

These numbers say that I’m unhappy (and wasting my precious life) every day that I set foot in my office, and that the clock is ticking for me to figure out just what it is I’d rather be doing.

I’ve realized that now is the most perfect time I will ever, ever have to quit my job and make the best use I can of these last 13.5 months of free health insurance (thanks, Dad!) + one year’s salary in the bank.

Last week, it hit me: my life is too short and too important to waste doing things I hate.

I’ve spent the ensuing days trying to decide whether I’m brave enough to stop doing those things, and to find new ones that I love. Now’s my time. I’ll never have such a perfect chance again.

13 thoughts on “Life’s Too Short

  1. MJ says:

    I spent 17 years in a job I didn’t enjoy because it seemed like the “right thing” to do. Be careful, the years will slip by quickly. Here’s to going after what you want! Good luck to you!

  2. lesliegleans says:

    In today’s society and economy it does take bravery to try something like quitting your job.
    I put my hardest decisions to the “eternity” test: what if I do and it goes badly? When I look back on my life, will it really matter? Probably not!
    Good luck with whatever you decide!
    Stopping by from Mamakats 🙂

    • AdventuringAtHome says:

      That’s how I’ve been trying to weigh this decision. When I look back on my life, I want to know that the things I filled it with were good things; things that made me happy. That’s what’s important to me.

  3. Dyanne @ I Want Backsies says:

    I was once you. You’re young. Single. Childless. There is no better time. At 25, I moved 500 miles away from home to try something new. It wasn’t always easy, but it was one of the best decisions I ever made. Don’t let your life be full of shoulda coulda wouldas!

      • Dyanne @ I Want Backsies says:

        I moved from a little town in the Missouri Ozarks to Nashville, because I wanted to work in the music business (not perform, just business stuff). So I packed up and moved. I worked in a law firm for four years before I finally made the right connections to get a job in the business. I loved the whole experience. And it’s what led me to my now-husband. Once you’re married and then have kids, you don’t get to do these (some may say impulsive) things anymore. Or, at least, it’s a lot harder to do them.

          • Dyanne @ I Want Backsies says:

            My favorite place to live EVER. I never wanted to move away from there and would move back in a heartbeat if it were possible. I have to console myself with visiting instead. Go visit. Get a feel for it. (Going in mid to late September would be great weather-wise.) And then send me an email and let me know what you think!

  4. ninamholland says:

    Good luck! I’ve always kind of gone off the beaten path in terms of life so I know how scary it is to leave the normal and familiar behind in favor of something that may not work out. Even if it doesn’t though, the adventure you get out of it and how much you end up learning about yourself is priceless. So I say go for it!

    xx

  5. carol says:

    Follow your heart! Life is far too short to waste it on things, jobs, ambitions that don’t lead you in the right direction. It does take bravery to make these life changing decisions, but I think your leap of faith will bring you joy!

Leave a Reply

