Reunion Road Trip, Day 4: The Architecture of Cape May

I decided to skip blogging about Day 3 of our Reunion Road trip, because it consisted of waking up, spending the morning at the beach, heading back to Lauren’s house for a lunch cookout, taking an afternoon nap (this was just me–everyone else hung out by the pool), getting ready and heading out for dinner, and then bar-hopping. Not that it wasn’t a wonderful day (it was), but I was too busy relaxing to take any pictures!

Day 4 was Saturday, which was the last day in Cape May for P and me. (The rest of the girls stayed until Sunday, but we were heading back to D.C. that night for the Nationals baseball game.) If you saw my Reunion Road Trip: Budget Breakdown post, you’ll remember that P and I stayed in a motel on Friday night, and woke up there Saturday morning. We met up with the rest of the group at a bagel shop for breakfast, and then, since it was the coolest day of the trip so far, Lauren led the group on a walking tour around town. I took the opportunity to take pictures of the Victorian architecture that  Cape May is known for!

nope, not San Fran! Cape May, New Jersey!

nope, not San Fran! Cape May, New Jersey!

one of many B&Bs in Cape May

one of many B&Bs in Cape May

all the houses had at least one porch

all the houses had at least one porch

tons of detail

tons of detail

I was befuddled by the amount of upkeep that must be required to maintain the intricate paint jobs on the houses around town. But they were all kept up–there really weren’t any houses in disrepair to be seen!

another B&B

another B&B

a more "beachy"-looking beach house

a more “beachy”-looking beach house

After walking a few blocks from the bagel shop, we made it back to the pedestrian mall. I snapped a picture of this storefront, because it struck me as so different from the bright colors and gingerbreading all over town. The whole store was painted the same color, and there was a simple exterior light above the door:

"Galvanic" storefront

“Galvanic” storefront

At the end of the mall is Congress Hall, which is one of the most famous locations in Cape May. The original hotel burned down and was later rebuilt to restore it to its original grandeur. It wasn’t impressive from the outside (I thought it was very ugly), but the inside was actually really pretty.

Congress Hall

Congress Hall

I was surprised that there were some boutique shops inside, because this was one of the bars we had visited the night before, and it hadn’t occurred to me that we should shop there. One boutique had two striking chandeliers:

chandelier #1

chandelier #1

chandelier #2

chandelier #2

And then we made it back to the bar where we had hung out the night before. I wasn’t able to get a great picture due to the lighting, but it was decorated in a way that made it feel like an old-timey, very high-class lounge.

swanky bar inside Congress Hall

swanky bar inside Congress Hall

Next up, we passed a little boutique that was adorable inside and out. I didn’t catch the name; otherwise, I’d try to link to their website!

pink, frilly, Victorian storefront

pink, frilly, Victorian storefront

Inside, I was happy to see ornate gold mirrors, chandeliers with ceiling medallions, and faux animal mounts. Lots of good design stuff here!

pretty!

pretty!

wooden deer head above the necklace display

wooden deer head above the jewelry display

another wooden deer head mounted above the clothing

another wooden deer head mounted above the clothing, and a white ceramic dog!

I asked P to get out of my picture and he refused, put his sunglasses on, and smirked. That’s his punk face, because he knows he’s annoying me!

another huge gold mirror, and an original fireplace

another huge gold mirror, and an original fireplace

The next store we headed into had lots of household-y type things, but there was some eye candy, too. I had never seen a brushed metal drum shade before…

tin ceiling + metal drum shade

tin ceiling + metal drum shade

And I liked the way they stored and displayed their drawer pulls:

lots of knob options

lots of knob options

As it started to heat up outside, we decided to head back to Lauren’s house. On the walk back to the car, we passed a decidedly non-Victorian house. This is just another example of how well-maintained all the houses are in Cape May!

how Colonial!

how Colonial!

And speaking of well-maintained, here’s Lauren’s backyard, where we spent many hours soaking up the sun:

the pool + canal

the pool + canal

It was tough to say goodbye to that, but P and I had to get back on the road! We were on the road by 1:30, heading for D.C. and my first baseball game. But we hit a snag when my car almost wouldn’t start, first when we left our motel that morning, and again when we tried to leave Lauren’s house. P thought it was my starter, and I decided we wouldn’t stop (or at least turn the engine off) unless absolutely necessary. Since I was worried about my car, I was in a pretty bad mood from there on out. I refused to stop for lunch or gas, and I was pretty crabby. After about an hour and a half of driving, I called my dad and described what my car was doing, and he suggested that we find an Advance Auto Parts, asap. We did, and thankfully, I only needed a new battery rather than a new starter or alternator. About 45 minutes and $126 later, we were back on the road, and I was much happier!

We made it through New Jersey and into Delaware, where we stopped for gas and lunch. After that, P took a turn driving and I took a nap. I woke up when we got to the Baltimore toll. After that, there was some traffic on the route to D.C., but we eventually made it to the Vienna Metro stop, figured out how to buy tickets, and made it into the city.

daytime at the ball field

daytime at the ball field

It was 95 degrees when we got to the game, and it was still about 90 when we left, so, needless to say, I was drenched in sweat and seriously uncomfortable the whole time. But it was still a new experience, and it wasn’t nearly as boring as baseball is on TV!

nighttime at the baseball field

nighttime at the ball field

The game we saw ended up going into extra innings, which meant we didn’t leave the park until about 10:30pm. After a long ride on the Metro, we made it back to the car, and then had to hop back on the road for another 30 minute drive to P’s friend’s house in Haymarket. We realized we hadn’t had dinner, so we stopped at a McDonalds at about 12:30. Then P and his friend stayed up talking until about 2am! It was a late, late night, and I was so glad when I finally made it to bed.

We woke up (late) the next morning, and we all got showered and dressed for brunch in NOVA. After brunch, we hit the road for the hour and a half drive back to Charlottesville!

Leave a Reply

