Reunion Road Trip, Day 2: Towson to Cape May

On Day 2 of our Reunion Road Trip, we woke up in Towson at P’s aunt and uncle’s house, showered, had a nice breakfast, and hit the road for Cape May, New Jersey!

We knew we were on our way when we paid our first toll at the Delaware Memorial Bridge:

approaching Delaware

approaching Delaware

$14 in tolls and one gas stop later, we arrived at Lauren’s house in Cape May! (I’ll pause only to say that I think it’s weird that you can’t pump your own gas in New Jersey.)

After dropping our bags in our room, we headed out for lunch and a driving tour of Cape May. We stopped at the Lobster House, which Lauren told us is one of the highest-grossing restaurants in the United States, due to the massive volume of fresh seafood sales they do.

The Lobster House

The Lobster House

I’m not normally a big seafood eater, but I wanted to embrace the spirit of vacation! I had a crabcake sandwich for lunch. The verdict: it wasn’t my favorite, but it wasn’t terrible. I even tried it with horseradish!

my crabcake sandwich

my crabcake sandwich

After lunch, Lauren led us on a driving tour of Cape May Island, so we could get our bearings and try to decide what we wanted to spend the next few days doing.

Lauren showed us this nunnery...right at the beach!

Lauren showed us this nunnery…right at the beach!

here's the lighthouse I initially planned to climb... but the heat changed my mind

here’s the lighthouse I initially planned to climb… but the heat changed my mind

I was surprised by the number of remainders of WWII around Cape May. Apparently that’s when the island was created (it used to be attached), because they dug out a cut-through channel across the land to connect the Atlantic to the Delaware Bay. There were old lookout towers plus this lighthouse, and a sunken ship at one of the beaches.

At the end of the tour, I requested that we go back to the pedestrian mall we had passed earlier.

us on the pedestrian mall... P with ice cream

us on the pedestrian mall… P with ice cream

Even though it was incredibly hot, I wanted to see what there was to see, and maybe do a little shopping. And it’s a good thing we did!

fudge counter at The Fudge Kitchen

fudge counter at The Fudge Kitchen

yummm!!

yummm!!

P and I split a quarter pound of some vanilla fudge with Oreos, and I wish we had gotten more. I also snagged a Christmas present for my dad in a different shop. After this, we popped into a few antique stores. I didn’t get any pictures, and didn’t make any purchases, but there was some good stuff to be found.

We headed back to Lauren’s house to relax for a brief bit, and then headed to a beach on the Delaware Bay to watch the sunset! Lauren and I split a bottle of champagne while P sipped on a 6-pack. It was a great way to spend our first evening at the beach.

sunset over the Delaware Bay

sunset over the Delaware Bay

toes in the sand

toes in the sand

a horseshoe crab exoskeleton! you would never see this on the beaches I'm used to (read: OBX)

a horseshoe crab exoskeleton! you would never see this on the beaches I’m used to (read: OBX)

Lauren worked some Instagram magic to "make us look good"

Lauren worked some Instagram magic to “make us look good”

the sun went down...

the sun went down…

and the moon came out!

and the moon came out!

Then we simply walked across the street to a restaurant/bar that I can’t for the life of me remember the name of…(I think it had Harry’s in it?) where we had a few more drinks and dinner. Continuing in my vacation spirit, I ordered a coconut shrimp basket with fries, which was delicious! (This assessment could have been attributed to my 2 cups of champagne and two vodka cranberries, but it was pretty close to perfect.)

dinner + drinks at the bar

dinner + drinks at the bar

We sat at the bar for a few hours chatting and listening to live music, and then we called it a night and headed back to Lauren’s house for bed.

Not a bad way to spend vacation day #2!

Leave a Reply

