Reunion Road Trip, Day 1: Baltimore Aquarium

As promised, I’ve been able to steal some internet time (while sitting on the floor in my now-empty apartment) to transfer the photos from our trip from my phone and camera over to my computer!

On Day 1 of our Reunion Road Trip, P and I hit the road from Charlottesville and headed north to the Baltimore Aquarium! We arrived a little before 2pm and stayed until they closed around 5:30. We saw plenty of fish, turtles, stingrays, and sharks, and we also saw a dolphin demonstration and the temporary jellyfish exhibit! I’ll let my less-than-stellar photos do the talking. (Here’s where I should mention that “buy a nice camera” has been on my blogging to-do list for a few months now.) It’s hard to take pictures of animals inside tanks with just a crappy camera and a phone!

the coral reef

the coral reef

2013-07-17 15.58.30

lovely coral

Baltimore Aquarium 7-17-13 003

the sea turtle was missing his front left flipper!

a whale skeleton

a whale skeleton

some sort of invasive species of fish -- but it looked like it had feathers!

this was some sort of invasive species of fish — but it looked like it had feathers!

this picture is terrible, but this was the puffin exhibit. we got to see their feeding time!

this picture is terrible, but this was the puffin exhibit. we got to see their 4pm feeding!

I believe this was a rain forest fish

this was some type of rain forest fish

this turtle was sleeping underwater and opened one eye to look at me!

this turtle was sleeping underwater and peeked one eye open to look at me!

one of many frog species. this one might have just been a tree frog.

one of many frog species. this one might have just been a tree frog.

this one was definitely a poison dart frog!

this one was definitely a poison dart frog!

I love stingrays. Ever since swimming with them in the Grand Cayman Islands. I just think they're so cool.

I love stingrays. Ever since swimming with them in the Grand Cayman Islands. I just think they’re so cool.

a puffer fish! I really wanted him to puff.

a puffer fish! I really wanted him to puff.

a stingray buried under the sand

a stingray buried under the sand

they remind me of ghosts

they remind me of ghosts

eek!

eek!

double eek!!

double eek!!

jellyfish

jellyfish

jellyfish

jellyfish

jellyfish

jellyfish

jellyfish

jellyfish

jellyfish

jellyfish

dolphin!!!

dolphin!!!

2nd grade me (the one who aspired to be a dolphin trainer) was on excitement overload

2nd grade me (the one who aspired to be a dolphin trainer) was on excitement overload

this sign was on my bathroom stall door and was too funny not to capture

this sign was on my bathroom stall door and was too funny not to capture

these were Australian crocodiles. I learned that they hang their mouths open like this to cool their brains!

these were Australian crocodiles. I learned that they hang their mouths open like this to cool their brains!

a long-necked turtle

a long-necked turtle

looking back at the dolphin wing from outside

looking back at the dolphin wing from outside

Once we had seen all we could see before the aquarium closed, we headed back to our car in the garage. But on the way, we passed this:

a 3-story Marshall's!!! the motherland!

a 3-story Marshall’s!!! the motherland!

Unfortunately, P put his foot down, because his aunt and uncle were expecting us for dinner. So we hit the road for Towson and night #1 of our journey. We hung out with his aunt and uncle all night, and they served us a delicious meal of grilled barbecued chicken, scalloped potatoes, Caesar salad, and Dove bars for dessert.

OH!, and this was their back-door neighbors’ house:

Gatsby might possibly live here

fit for Gatsby himself!

Possibly the biggest house I’ve ever seen in person.

So that was day 1 of our vacation! I hope to be back tomorrow with day 2.

Has anyone else visited the Baltimore Aquarium? What else did we miss in Baltimore? If we had planned for more time, I would have loved to explore more. Maybe another time!

Leave a Reply

