Charlottesville Southern Living Showcase Home

On Sunday, I graciously invited (read: dragged) my dad, grandma, and sister to the 2013 Southern Living Showcase home, which is right here in Charlottesville!

I’m not totally clear on how the process works (there seem to be a lot of Southern Living Showcase Homes), but it was essentially another designed house to tour, so I wasn’t going to pass it up! (See my visits to the 2013 Charlottesville Design House and the 2012 Richmond Homearama for more design goodness.)

The house was built by Summit Custom Homes, and features nearly 5,000 square feet of finished living space. The house was split into chunks and designed by 3 area designers: Moyanne Harding, Stedman House, and the Gibson Design Group.

Let’s start the tour! Here’s the exterior:

Disclaimer: I couldn’t get the greatest pictures because 1) there were other people in the house and 2) I wasn’t sure whether photography was allowed!

Upon entering, you’re in a foyer with a dining area to your right. Straight ahead is a 2-story living space designed by Moyanne. I loved the palette of blues and grays.

2013-06-02 11.34.07Behind where the above photo was taken is the amazing kitchen (which was, in my humble opinion, one of the two best spaces of the whole house), also designed by Moyanne. [I love, love, love white kitchen cabinets. I loved the coffered ceiling. I loved the soft-close drawers. I loved that the upper shelves in each cabinet were lit and glass-fronted for display. I loved the pot-filler above the stovetop. I loved the black soapstone countertops. I loved the backsplash, and the hardware, and the flooring… Sigh.]

2013-06-02 11.54.28Accessible through doors from the kitchen and the living room above was the second of the two best spaces in the house: an amazing and cozy covered porch, complete with a fireplace. I’ve seen a few porches like this in the Charlottesville area, and I think whoever came up with this idea was a genius. It’s definitely on my list for my someday dream home. The porch was designed by Andrea Gibson. (Fun fact: she also designed the screened porch at the 2012 Charlottesville Design House, and it was awesome, too!) A porch like this would get so much use in this area: it would be perfect for springtime breakfasts, cool summer nights, evenings in the fall, and even cuddling in front of the fireplace during the winter. I really want one!

2013-06-02 11.32.44Also on the main floor were the Master bedroom and bathroom, by Andrea Gibson. I couldn’t get great pictures here because it was a little crowded, but I loved the bed, the trim + molding detail, and the wood ceiling in this room.

2013-06-02 11.34.28The modern claw-foot tub in the Master bath was really cool! I didn’t get a picture of the walk-in closet, but it was decked out with a full organizational job by the Closet Factory.

2013-06-02 11.36.04Obviously, these photos only capture a few of the spaces on the main floor (I didn’t get pictures of the foyer, den, dining room, half bath, laundry room, staircases, or garage), and I completely left out the basement and the upper level!

I’d recommend a visit if you’re in the Charlottesville area. The house is open for one more weekend, with tours available this Friday, June 7 through Sunday, June 9. A bonus: it looks like at least some of the cost of your $12 ticket goes to charity!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Charlottesville Southern Living Showcase Home

Leave a Reply

