Archive Dive!

Day 21 of the Blog Every Day in May Challenge is “A list of links to your favorite posts in your archives.”

BlogEverday

There aren’t all that many posts in my archives. When I click “Publish” on this one, it will be #92. But I’ve tried to find a few favorites. They all kind of center on a theme: doing what makes me happy with my one and only life.

On Christmas Eve in 2011, I summarized the state of my life and rededicated myself to the effort of blogging in the post a purpose-driven blog.

In November 2012, I left my first “grown-up” job and started my second. I wrote on interviews, and what I’ve learned to summarize my interviewing experience. It also nicely sums up the things I got out of my first real job experience: both good and bad. Also in November, P and I transitioned into a long-distance relationship. That forced me to do a great deal of scrutinizing my life’s choices and reprioritizing the things I want out of life. That’s when I wrote my Manifesto.

In February of this year, I took a few weeks to do some serious thinking. Then, I wrote  about a change I was planning to make, which included a list of the things I wanted (and still want, for the most part) in a future career.

On May 13, 2013, I blogged about the 2013 Charlottesville Design House, for which I volunteered from December through May of this year. In the hopes of getting a few central Virginians to see my post and want to visit the house, I was the very first commenter on YHL the next day. It must have worked: that post earned me 674 pageviews (which more than doubled my total pageviews at the time), AND earned my blog a link from the Design House Facebook page! I doubt that I’ll see traffic like that again any time EVER.

Yesterday, I wrote about some of the things I’m currently struggling with.

It’s funny: it wasn’t until sitting down and reviewing my archives to compile this post that I realize that I’ve actually been cycling in and out of the same problem for two years now. The issues I’m currently struggling with aren’t new. I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up, and I’m not happy with what I’m currently doing. I want to try something new, but I don’t want to fail, or lose my life’s savings, or wind up lonely in a new place, or anything else that’s decidedly bad. The difference lately is that I’m actually doing something about it. (More on that to come…hopefully!)

Leave a Reply

