Texas

When planning my posts for the A to Z Challenge, my choice for ‘T’ came quickly. Texas! I was never, ever interested in this state until the last 6 months or so of my life.

They say that “everything’s bigger in Texas.” I have no idea why. Texas is a huge place, though. Maybe that’s got something to do with it.

In terms of cities I’d like to go see, we’ve got:

  • Dallas
  • Austin
  • Houston

I think part of the reason that Texas never really appealed to me is because of all the stereotypes:

  • Southern
  • Southwestern
  • cowboys
  • cowboy boots
  • cowboy hats
  • guns (that line from Miss Congeniality comes to mind: “Of course he had a gun. This is Texas. Everybody has a gun! My florist has a gun!”)
  • oil fields
  • oil tycoons
  • desert heat
  • football country

But I’ve come to learn that perhaps a place can exceed expectations. P has a friend who moved to Austin after graduating to work in wineries, and has recently gotten the funding to start his own winery with a partner! So cool. So we’ve put it on our list of places to visit.

One-half of my company is also based in Dallas, and they all seem to love the location–and none of them fit the stereotypes I had always built up in my mind. Another bonus. Lastly, there are a few bloggers I follow who live in Texas, and obviously I like them!

Best time to visit: spring and fall, when it’s not too terribly hot

Current cost of a plane ticket from Charlottesville (CHO) to Austin Bergstrom (AUS): $496.10 with taxes

Any Texans out there who I’ve offended? Anyone else (like me) who buys into the stereotypes? Anyone have any recommendations on hotels, restaurants, museums, or events in Texas? (Or do you prefer a different location that begins with T?)

3 thoughts on “Texas

  1. J. L. Schmidt says:

    When I went to Texas (Dallas/Fort Worth area) I was supremely disappointed. I think I was expecting John Wayne to meet me at the airport, or for everything to just be colossally enormous, or everyone to be wearing cowboy getup, or… or something… I just expected to step out of the airport and KNOW I was in TEXAS (you know, sometimes you just enter the state and you KNOW… Florida is like that, and California… and Washington). And I didn’t. It just felt kinda generic… I was sad. I saw more cowboy hats in Tennessee…

Leave a Reply

