Maymont Park

I’m kicking off week 3 of the A to Z Challenge with a location that’s close to home: Richmond’s Maymont Park.

Maymont is a 100-acre Victorian estate built in the 1890s by a wealthy couple, James and Sallie Dooley. After their deaths, the couple bestowed their home as a gift to the people of Richmond, and now it contains the Maymont Mansion museum, an arboretum, 4 formal gardens, a carriage collection, wildlife exhibits, a nature center, and a petting zoo (!! — I love a good petting zoo).

Strangely, I couldn’t find many good pictures online. Here’s one of the mansion:

I’m fairly positive that I stopped at Maymont once as an afternoon activity for a school field trip, although I can’t remember the rest of the trip or even whether that’s accurate. I hardly remember my visit, so I think it’s high time for another one. I’m planning to drag P to Richmond in May for Dominion Riverrock (um, hello, a dog jumping contest?!), so I think we can probably squeeze in an afternoon visit!

One thought on “Maymont Park

Leave a Reply

