Iceland

It’s day #9 of the A to Z Challenge. Let’s get down to it.

I’ve had Iceland in the back of my mind ever since Devon posted this video. I think that was in 2011?

The midnight sun is a natural phenomenon occurring in summer months at places north of the Arctic Circle and south of the Antarctic Circle where the sun remains visible at the local midnight. Around the solstice (June 21 in the north and December 21 in the south) and given fair weather the sun is visible for the full 24 hours.

-Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midnight_sun)

I decided then that I wanted to see the midnight sun firsthand. Since then, I’ve learned two things about Iceland: 1) that I can’t produce the names of any of its cities, and 2) that Reykjavík is both the capital city and “the nightlife capital of the north.”

I think it would be fun to test my limits a little bit and try a destination race. (I’ve never traveled to somewhere unfamiliar for the purpose of running a race.) Why not the Suzuki Midnight Sun Run? I’ll add it to my list.

Current cost of a plane ticket from Charlottesville (CHO) to Reykjavík (KEF): $4123.72 with taxes. Double whew.

Has anyone been to Iceland? Anyone seen the midnight sun, or partied in Reykjavík? Recommendations on lodging, restaurants, events? Feel free to share!

7 thoughts on “Iceland

  1. Alicia Bien says:

    Hi!
    The video is beautiful. When I was interning in Washington I met a Icelandic diplomat( I gave her a tour of the Capitol) and she was so nice and longed for people to visit her country. It made me what to go to Iceland, site unseen! I wonder if you looked into the Sun Run to see if there are any ticket deals or discounts for Americans flying to Iceland for the race? It’s worth a try! I longest I’ve ever raced is a half marathon. How about you? Happy A-Zing!
    Alicia

    • AdventuringAtHome says:

      Hi Alicia,
      I didn’t see anything about ticket deals for Americans flying in, but I also didn’t look too deeply. That would make it an even better experience! I’ve run one half marathon and many shorter races, and am running a 10k this Saturday, after taking a year off of running. I’m excited!

      • Alicia Bien says:

        Hi Katie,
        I’d check the travel bureau and the Sun Run race itself to see if they have any incentives for Americans to go to Iceland. From what I understand, they LOVE tourists because they don’t get many of them. GOOD LUCK with your race this weekend!
        Alicia

  2. cassmob says:

    Iceland hadn’t been on my agenda for a while but I think that I’d really like to see the aurora and all its other wonderful places.

Leave a Reply

