the Elephant Sanctuary

For day #5 of the A to Z Challenge, I’m featuring my first non-city destination.

Obviously, I have a bit of a thing for elephants.

Visting the Elephant Sanctuary has been a dream of mine for years and years: ever since this video hit YouTube back in 2009:

Seriously. I tear up every time.

Unfortunately (for me), The Elephant Sanctuary isn’t open to the general public. It’s a good thing for the girls, as they’ve all lived hard lives and are now retired from zoos or circuses. The only two ways to snag a visit are to serve as a volunteer or to join the Sanctuary’s VIP Pledge Program, which requires pledging $2,000 or more each year for five consecutive years, and grants a behind-the-scenes tour of the Sanctuary. I may write up a bucket list, just to be able to put both of these things on it. For reals.

6 thoughts on “the Elephant Sanctuary

    • AdventuringAtHome says:

      Sorry about the crying! I agree, and I love that it’s relatively close to me. I’d love to be able to volunteer. According to their website, their 2013 volunteer calendar is already full! I’m so glad to know that.

Leave a Reply

