D.C.

Day 4 of the A to Z Challenge brings us to the letter D. This one was almost a no-brainer for me. A city I’d like to visit (and regularly) is Washington, D.C. Our nation’s capitol. Only a 2 hour and 15 minute car ride away.

I’ve lived in Charlottesville for nearly my whole life, and yet the only times I’ve ever been to D.C. have been for school field trips. I’d like to get more familiar with the city and its many attractions.

But the real reason that this destination came to mind so quickly for the A to Z Challenge is because it’s early April. That means it’s prime time for cherry blossoms. RIGHT NOW, April 3-6, is estimated to be the peak window for blossoms this year. People come from all around the world for the Cherry Blossom Festival, and I can totally understand why…

During all my field trips, my favorite parts of D.C. were the outdoor spaces (I never liked getting a day off of school to spend it cooped up in a museum). I love the monuments and memorials on the National Mall.

The first time I saw the Roosevelt Memorial was during my 8th grade field trip, and something about it captivated me. The day I was there seemed magical somehow, and that monument still radiates in my memory. When I went back in 12th grade, it was still as interesting to me. (You know how a place can evoke a memory? This place evokes a feeling for me. A feeling of being young and free, and knowing that my possibilities are endless.)

The cherry blossom trees were given to the U.S. by Japan in 1912. According to the National Park Service, the flowering trees symbolize friendship between nations, the renewal of spring, and the ephemeral nature of life.

It’s just so beautiful.

If I didn’t have a prior obligation on Saturday, I might drive up there for the day. I’m even seriously considering taking a day off work on Friday… hmm…

This challenge is giving me the itch to travel!

Has anyone been to D.C. for the Cherry Blossom Festival? Just visited for a school trip? Does anyone prefer the museums to the monuments? 

7 thoughts on “D.C.

  1. a passion and a passport says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE DC! I went there a few years ago during the cherry blossom festival, but I went a little early and they all hadn’t bloomed yet! Just another excuse to go back next year, since this year it’s already too late! Thanks for checking out my blog!

  2. sincerelyshannonblog says:

    This is my second year living in the D.C area and the cherry blossom season is absolutely beautiful- Thank you Japan! I love that you talked about the FDR memorial- a lot of people have never been and it is my favorite as well. It’s so peaceful and the perfect place to wander around and get lost. If you ever come back to visit let me know!

    • AdventuringAtHome says:

      I think the FDR memorial must have been constructed sometime between my elementary school field trips and my 8th grade field trip, which is why I didn’t see it until then. I’ll certainly let you know if I come visit; thanks for the offer! (Looking at these pictures, I can’t help but think I might be there soon…)

  3. shere says:

    Very nice pictures, I didn’t know there were o many cherry blossoms in D.C. As it happened to you, I also had my troubles with D. Well, at the end I didn’t write the post because Wednesday I forgot my laptop in the office. Shame on me!

Leave a Reply

