Chicago

The next location in my A to Z Challenge is Chicago. Chi-town. The Windy City!

As I mentioned last week, I’ve been thinking about Chicago lately. I think it’s probably because I just discovered Kim and Scott’s blog, Yellow Brick Home, which I’m now in love with! They are adorable, and from what I’ve read, they love their city. I’m ready to visit (and then move in).

It appeals to me that the city sits on Lake Michigan, which makes it both the #3 most populous city in the U.S. and also a beach town! (For some reason, it blows my mind that a city can be land-locked yet still be on such a big, non-ocean body of water…Virginia girl right here.) I’ve never seen any of the Great Lakes, and Chicago seems like a good place to change that!

Highlights:

  • deep dish pizza!!
  • Taste of Chicago (the world’s largest food festival)
  • the Sears Tower (which has apparently been the Willis Tower since 2009…who knew?)
  • Millennium Park + Cloud Gate
  • Lincoln Park
  • Wrigley Field, home of the Chicago Cubs, aka the Loveable Losers
  • shopping, entertainment

P has been a Cubs fan since he was little, so I’m pretty sure I could convince him to join me on this trip, as long as it were baseball season. (He also wanted me to share that the Cubs won on Monday night–making it their first opening day victory in four years.) I’d be willing to see a game at Wrigley Field if I could have a hot dog…and if we could go out for pizza afterward!

Best time to visit: the Taste of Chicago is in mid-July (and obviously I’m interested in eating my way through this city!), but I’d like to see it in the spring or fall

Current cost of a plane ticket from Charlottesville (CHO) to Chicago O’Hare (ORD): $415.60 with taxes

For those of you who have been, what were the highlights of your trip to Chicago? Am I crazy, or is it a great place to eat? Any recommendations on hotels, restaurants, museums, events? (Or do you prefer a different city that begins with C?)

2 thoughts on “Chicago

  1. Peter says:

    One of my professors at University said that there is a five-block radius of nothing but partygoers surrounding Wrigley on game days. I’m sure P would love that!

Leave a Reply

