Amsterdam

I’ve decided that my A to Z Challenge is going to center on the many places I’d like to visit. This will allow me the opportunity to do a little research (even if only photographic) as well as to solicit travel tips from more well-seasoned travelers than I!

Up first is Amsterdam.

Amsterdam is one of those places that seems to appeal to travelers of all sorts. I read The Good Thief’s Guide to Amsterdam, hoping for a better taste of the city, but it didn’t provide the insight I was hoping for.

Highlights: the canals, the night life, the museums, the parks, the history.

Best time to visit:  ?

Current cost of a plane ticket from Charlottesville (CHO) to Amsterdam (AMS): $1131.23 with taxes

This trip is much farther into the future than many others, so I haven’t even begun to do my research!

For those of you who have visited, what were the highlights of your trip to Amsterdam? Any must-sees? Recommendations on hotels, restaurants, museums, events? (Or do you prefer a different city that begins with A?)

8 thoughts on “Amsterdam

  1. Jann Rayner Tresham says:

    Hi Katie, thanks for stopping by my blog to visit. After struggling to find an A topic, I didn’t even think about locations….darn, I spend a lot of time in Austin because my granddaughters live there. Have only been to the airport in Amsterdam. Great airport with good wifi. One of these days I’ll get to the city, but it’s not high on my travel list.

  2. Chuck Allen says:

    This is a great theme and I’m looking forward to what you come up with for the more challenging letters. 🙂 Amsterdam is also on my list of place I want to see but haven’t.

  3. sedaley88 says:

    This is a great theme! Glad you found my blog- hope it had some helpful answers. I went in June and the weather perfect- sunny and warm. I’d love to go back in April because that’s when you can see the tulip fields blooming. Hope you get there someday!

Leave a Reply

