snow day

I’ve fallen off the blogging and running bandwagons! I haven’t run for 7 days. I haven’t blogged for 7 days.

My sister came into town unexpectedly on Monday night, after seeing a concert in D.C. She and two friends crashed in our apartment, and it seems that they brought with them a cloud of germs so toxic that it completely incapacitated me (she and one of her friends were both sick). I got up and went out to breakfast with them on Tuesday morning, and then came home and crawled back into bed, with a dry, scratchy, closed-off throat, and pain resonating up the sides of my neck and into my ears. I was miserable and actually thought I might have strep throat for the first time since before high school. I slept from about 1:30 until 7:30pm, got up to eat some dinner, and then got back into bed.

I woke up this morning to about 8 inches of snowfall and power outages all across town, which meant another day off work. I’m certainly not complaining, because an extra day in bed seems to have been exactly what I needed. My throat and ears feel much better, but still not normal. So although I’m not quite back to 100%, I’m hoping that I will be soon.

Tomorrow night I hope to run. I thought about going tonight, but I didn’t want to push it. The 5k is in 11 days, and I haven’t yet registered. The 10k is in 38 days, and I’m looking at my training plan and getting worried. I’m afraid I haven’t built up enough mileage to hit the distances of my long runs, which means that I won’t be able to cover the distance on race day. I know I’ll still have more training for this race under my belt than I did last year, but I can’t help thinking that at least then, I had run a half marathon 4 months previously…

Leave a Reply

