morning show wisdom

I listen to Elvis Duran and the Morning Show every day on my drive to work. Tomorrow is TJ’s (one of the DJs–are they still called DJs if they don’t play music?) last day, as he gave his two weeks’ notice last Monday.

They’ve been doing a lot of talking about TJ’s 11-year history with the show for the past two weeks, and it’s been incredibly surprising to hear all the support and well-wishes being offered up by each of the members of the show–particularly Elvis, the host. It’s a completely foreign concept to me to have a boss who fully supports you in everything you do, even if that thing is leaving his morning radio show to start your own. What must it be like to work in an environment like that?

The norm for me (during my illustrious 19-month professional career) has been to go to work, do what’s expected of me, and not allow my personal and professional lives to have much cross-over. I’ve never had a supervisor who I felt supported me and wanted to assist in my professional growth or development; my bosses have always been in the weeds with their own work, and busy looking out for themselves. I always quietly job hunt and hope that no one at work will catch wind of it, for fear of the repercussions. But it now occurs to me that not all workplaces are like that.

Add this to the list of things I want in a future job: a supportive boss, and opportunities for growth. And the ability to openly discuss those things at work.

As I pulled in to my parking spot at work this morning, they were ending the segment. They played an audio clip from some time last week, right after TJ had made his announcement to the world at large. It didn’t have anything to do with what I’ve been talking about here, but it’s good advice nonetheless.

“And keep in mind—this is for everyone: follow your dreams, because one day…you’ll die.” -Elvis Duran

He meant it as a joke, and it was very funny on the air, but it’s essentially the truth. If you don’t follow your dreams, what will you have, when one day you’re looking back on your life?

I’m still building up to following my dreams. I can feel a big change coming on in my near future, I just haven’t quite got all the details worked out yet. For the past few weeks I’ve had a newfound and persisting sense of hope and excitement inside me, and it’s growing stronger every day.

Leave a Reply

