Gone Girl

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I started seeing Gone Girl being mentioned here and there across the internet the past few weeks, and was mildly interested by teasers I read online. The deal was sealed, though, when I visited my grandma and found that she had just finished reading it, at her brother and sister-in-law’s suggestions.

This is one of those books where almost any discussion of the plot might give something away, and I don’t want to spoil it, so I’ll try to be deliberate but vague.

The novel is divided into three sections. I started reading it last Sunday night, and tore through most of Part 1 in the next few evenings. (Okay, very late evenings. This book kept me awake late into the night.) I was fascinated by the dynamic between Nick and Amy, the married couple who the plot revolves around. But it wasn’t even the plot of this book that really hooked me–it was the psychology of the characters. It was a terrifying insight into the power of a marriage and just how dangerous it can be when you’re that close to another person. Nick and Amy could read (and predict, and manipulate) each other’s thoughts even when hundreds of miles apart; and not in a good way.

Mostly, this book creeped me out. I found myself relating to both of the main characters at different points, and then after the next twist, I’d be worried about what that might mean about me.

The story started on Nick and Amy’s fifth wedding anniversary, when Amy went missing from their house, apparently after a violent struggle. Nick became the prime suspect, and it was interesting to follow the proceedings of the case as each piece of evidence was revealed. It was a very intricate story, cleverly thought-out and built upon, and the mental aspects that intertwined with the cold, hard facts were even better.

Overall, I’d highly recommend it, especially if you’re in a relationship. It’ll definitely make you stop and think about how close you are with your partner, and how fine the line is between healthy and cripplingly toxic.

My overall rating: 4/5

3 thoughts on “Gone Girl

  1. Cassie says:

    This book has been sitting in my back seat since my mom gave it to me for Christmas. I’ve read so many reviews that I’m almost scared to open it. Plus, I know when I do that I won’t be able to stop reading until it’s over. Loved your review as well!

  2. AdventuringAtHome says:

    It’s definitely worth reading! It grabbed me immediately, but then the farther I got into it, there were a few times that I had to put it down and walk away for about a day, just to let it sink in. I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

