leavin’ on a jet plane

Two nights ago, I dreamed that I found out at the last minute that I had signed up to study abroad again this semester. It was the exact same program I did during the spring of 2009, and even though I’m no longer in college, I was somehow being allowed to go. The day I found out was the day before our plane left. I hadn’t packed a thing, didn’t know any of the other students (for my program, we all took two classes together the semester before we left–one was Intro to Italian and one was a 1-credit prep class specific to our program), didn’t remember a word of Italian, had to give my boss zero days’ notice that I was quitting, and didn’t care in the slightest about any of those things. I was pumped.

I woke up and was sad to realize it wasn’t really happening. I wonder if that means I’ve got the travel bug once again? I’d love to hop back on a plane and disappear into an old villa in the Alps for another 5 months.

Leave a Reply

