2013 Resolutions

I don’t like making New Year’s Resolutions. I never stick to them. I never stick to anything, really. (I’m not great at anything, and I don’t like doing things that I’m not at least good at. Can you see the problem?)

I’m turning 25 this year. Instead of promising myself that I’ll stick to a few life-altering changes for the entire year, I’d rather shoot for a list of things to try before then. If all goes well, I’ll keep doing the ones I like, and throw out the ones I don’t.

Without further ado (and mostly off of the top of my head), my list of 25 before 25:

1) Train for and run the Ukrop’s Monument Avenue 10k with Dad again. Beat our time from last year. (1:12:48–me, with approximately 2 weeks of training, him with about 2 workouts prior to race day.)

2) Join a gym and exercise consistently. (I’m already planning the details of this one.)

3) Take a painting class. (I’m working on this one, too.)

4) Blog. I’ve given up trying to post regularly, or even on topic. But I’ll continue to try to remember just to write.

5) Expand my readership beyond myself. (I’m throwing myself a slow pitch with this one. Hopefully.)

6) Dance. (Hip hop, Zumba, ballet, the Macarena, in the car, in da club, in the street, wherever.) Just dance.

7) Sing. (In the shower, in the car, in public, wherever.)

8) Explore the world of Etsy. Sell something that I’ve made.

9) Buy my first house.

10) Go to a concert.

11) Make a new friend. Or 2. Or more.

12) Visit Savannah and Charleston.

13) Read 10 books.

14) Figure out how to make a hobby into a job. Then do it.

15) Spend time with all of my cousins on days that aren’t holidays.

16) Go to a wedding.

17) Do something nice for my parents and grandparents.

18) Volunteer.

19) Go camping. And hiking.

20) Get a physical.

21) Cook. And bake. (And clean up afterward!)

22) Visit long-distance friends.

23) Do a tasting at all the remaining wineries on the Monticello Wine Trail.

24) Fly in an airplane, take a train, and ride in a boat.

25) Go on a trip for my 25th birthday.

I’ve got 8 months and 18 days to get some serious stuff done. For once, I’m ready to get started.

One thought on “2013 Resolutions

Leave a Reply

