goals for the next year / professional aims

Note: This is my last week at my current job, hence all the work-centric posting I’m doing.

I’ve been thinking about what I want in my professional life. I’ll do my best to keep these things in mind as I start my new job and begin to settle in.
Things I’ve learned:
-I never want to work for a company that is completely out of touch with its employees on the ground level again. (If the CEO ever says “we don’t know what we’re doing” during a company quarterly meeting, run.)
-I never want to work for a company that expects excessive overtime and never awards so much as a “thank you” in return.
-I never want to be in a job again where the best part is my teammates. I never want to step back one day and realize that I hate all of the work I do, and couldn’t care less about the company’s mission. (I never want to write “None of my current work is meaningful to me in a personal way” on my annual employee self-assessment again.)
-I never want to work for a company where the executives are like puppeteers–they run the show, they decide who stays and goes, they provide the only information to the CEO, and therefore, they’re running the company as they (inaccurately) see fit.

Things I want:
-I want to continue to work with smart, dedicated and talented people. I want to learn from my coworkers and to feel that I can contribute to bettering them, too.
-I want to balance my professional and personal lives. I never want my worries at work to come home with me. I absolutely never want to be kept up at night worrying about things I did or didn’t do at work the day before.
-I want to enjoy the work I do. I want to work for a company that produces an interesting and meaningful product.

Tips for the next job I accept (provided by my current manager):
-Attempt to negotiate more vacation time upon receiving my job offer.
-Attempt to negotiate higher starting salary by saying “My current company offered me x more dollars a year to stay. Can you match that?”
-If I can’t negotiate a higher salary off the bat, establish that I’d like a performance evaluation after six months, at which point my progress will lead to a discussion about increased pay.

Leave a Reply

