another new beginning

I was sitting at work today and thinking about how strange it was that I had almost nothing to do. For the 13 months that I’ve worked there, I’ve always wished that the pace were slower and that there were less emergencies each day. Today, it seemed like I might be heading that way.

I took some time to look over my Google calendar from this time last year, and I couldn’t help but notice just how different my life is now. I’m less happy, less active, and less involved.

That needs to change.

All my life, I’ve been prone to thinking about doing things, rather than actually just doing them. The time to do is now. I’ve become static in my own life–professionally, physically, personally.

After work, I went to the gym and spun out 2 miles on the elliptical. There were two other people occupying the two treadmills, so I couldn’t use those. Normally, I hate the elliptical, but I wasn’t going to let my efforts go to waste. Just getting myself there was the hard part; the miles were easy.

I’m registered for the Charlottesville Fall Classic 10k: I had to downgrade from my initial registration for the Half Marathon. It’s on October 20, 8 weeks and 4 days from today. Here’s my training plan:

Image

And now I’m accountable.

One thought on “another new beginning

Leave a Reply

