Homearama

Yesterday, Paul and I adventured over to Richmond for Homearama, which I heard about through John & Sherry on YoungHouseLove.com.

We spent our afternoon exploring houses, comparing design tastes, and tasting wine!

We saw a lot of trim detail and moldings…

nice doorway detail

a spin on the traditional dining room wainscotting

a very easy and pretty way to spice up a foyer

And about a hundred coffered ceilings…

a white version

a brown version

a blue version

About a million gorgeous kitchens, bathrooms, and living rooms.

I loved these two-tone cabinets with the round tiled backsplash

an airy and feminine bedroom

I loved the idea of using trim to “build” a painted headboard. very doable.

But the best parts were the things that we each felt personally drawn to (I was so happy that even Paul found a few!).

a blue dining room…you don’t see a lot of these!

a hammered copper kitchen sink

a sliding barn door leading into a family media room

And a little something for Pauly B…

how manly!

He also really loved the very first house we went into, which was decorated in a far-too-traditional-for-me style, and which had a painting of the last meeting of Lee and Jackson overlooking the dining room table. I didn’t take a picture of it, but Paul was enamored.

Overall, it was a great way to spend an afternoon. I’m so thankful to have found someone who’s willing to put in the time and effort to look at houses and tolerate my giddiness for design. A trip to Richmond is quick and easy, and it goes a long way toward making me happy. Bonuses: it let me figure out what he likes in terms of interior design, and gave me ideas to think about ways to meld our styles together in the future! It’s the little things that count, right?

One thought on “Homearama

Leave a Reply

