Job

Today’s A to Z post on “My 20-something goals list” is the big one: the J-O-B.

I obsess about this topic all.the.time. I spend 40 hours a week in a job that I find unfulfilling, only to come home and spend at least 8 additional hours a week job searching: submitting countless applications that inevitably go unacknowledged, and stressing about what exactly it is that I truly want to do with my time.

The fact is that I have no idea. I’ve been asked many, many times: “What would you do if you could do anything?,” and I never have a succinct answer. When asked what it is that I don’t like about my present job, the most concrete response I can give is that I just don’t enjoy the work. I don’t feel passionate about what I do (perhaps because I don’t produce anything and I’m not responsible for any tangible product?), and that makes it hard to go to work every day. The flip side, though, is that I have no idea what I feel passionately about.

I’ve often read that your 20s is the time when you’re supposed to try out many different jobs – often even several different career paths – before settling into your 30s with a stronger sense of self and a steady course for the rest of your adult life. If this is the case, I’m screwed. If I can’t get someone to reply to one of my infinite job applications before I hit the big 3-0, the path I’m on will become my life’s course. And I just can’t take that.

Does anyone have any advice to offer on how to figure out which job is the right one for you? Any career changers out there? Anyone (like me) still struggling with what exactly it is that fires you up?

5 thoughts on “Job

  1. I have been able to follow my dream since I can remember… art and design!

    Thank you for being part of the “AtoZ Challenge”, please stop on over to my site[s] and say “Hello”!
    Comment/Follow/Etc.

    Jeremy [Retro]
    AtoZ Challenge Co-Host [2014]

    Old is the New Cool…
    [Being-Retro]

  2. Hey! Stopping by from the A to Z challenge! I have to agree with you that job search is quite a challenge these days (no pun intended). What I try to do every day is to keep a positive attitude, do what I love to do as long as it helps others, and take it one day at a time. Hope that helps. Best of all!
    #theawsomedish.blogspot.com

  3. I’m a writer–but I didn’t really know that when I graduated college. I knew I didn’t want to be a TV reporter (what I went to college to do) because I’d have to move far away and it didn’t pay enough to live on starting out. So I went into public relations, which I thought was a natural career path. That was where I came to realize writing was what I loved.

    All that to say…sometimes you don’t really know why you’re going down a certain path until later, when you look back. I will say, I wrote on the side for 20 years, working a job I didn’t like, before I finally could do it full-time, so that part sucks!

    Visiting from the A to Z Challenge signup page. Great to meet you!

    Stephanie Faris, author
    30 Days of No Gossip

    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  4. If I had to do college and my 20s over again, I would frame my question about what do I want to do around the stories Malcolm Gladwell tells in Outliers. If you’re familiar with that book, Gladwell tells the tales of successful people and one thing they have in common is 10,000 hours dedicated to their craft/job/life’s work. So…I would ask myself what I’d like to do for 10,000 hours and start there.

  5. Hi, from the A-Z Challenge! I am a 29 year old stay at home mom who is currently training to be a medical massage therapist – which is something I’ve been wanting to do for years. Its a bit of a jump because I’ve been at home for the last 6+ years. Hopefully, once I start working, my husband will have an opportunity to chase his dreams a bit. Have you read “Start” by Jon Acuff? That book inspired me to start school. I highly suggest reading it. Also, Dan Miller’s “48 Days to the Work You Love” & “No More Mondays are great, inspiring reads.

Leave a Reply

