Investment Property

Today’s A to Z post on the theme of “my 20-something goals” is about Investment Property.

I achieved my life-long goal of buying a house in January. I’m currently renting out a bedroom to a roommate, which helps cut down my monthly mortgage payment.

HOWEVER: now that I’ve got one house, I don’t want to stop. My next goal is to buy an additional property every five years. (If I’m being honest, I’d prefer to do it every 3 years.) Eventually (but hopefully sooner than later), I’d like to be able to live off of the income from my various properties.

I live in Charlottesville, which is known for extremely high real estate costs. I find this to be supremely frustrating, but it’s a challenge that I think I can overcome. I’ve learned that there are deals to be found, if you’re willing to be patient (which I did when buying my current house — I checked the MLS every day for close to two years!).

Being a landlord fits nicely with my life-long love of houses and my desire to live freely outside of the 9-to-5 office setting. Now all I’ve got to do is make it happen…

One thought on “Investment Property

  1. Someone I know bought her first house when she was only 18! That investment led to her owning 10 houses (mostly apartment). She has done well for herself! Great goal you have!

Leave a Reply

